03.12.2018 SMI Motorsport News 
2018 IC Australian Nationals
SMI Motorsport News 2018 IC Australian Nationals
November 20 to 25th saw the running of the 2018 IC Australian National Championships for 200mm tourer, 1/8th scale and GT in Lilydale, Victoria, Australia.

Fresh from his 5th place finish at the recent 2018 worlds in Miami, Jeff Hamon driving is Orcan powered Mugen continued his form by dominating the touring car class all weekend with the TQ and 1st place in the 45 minute A-Main final over German driver Thilo Todtmann.

Orcan drivers Ricky Kradolfer and Tim Moylan scored 2nd and 3rd place in their semi finals to earn a direct bump up spot to the A main final, as did Orcan drivers Braydon Stanley and Andrew Gillespie in the other semi final.

Ricky, starting from 5th on the grid for the Amain final and on a 6 minute fuel strategy, was showing great place, but decided against a tire change eventually leading him to slip down the order to finish 8th after tire wear proved much higher then in the semi final race earlier in the day. Young 12 year old Orcan driver Braydon Stanley battled it out with Thilo for 2nd and showed very fast pace and driving an amazing race but ran into trouble when his shock absorber came off forcing him to make a long pit stop to fix the car, slipping him down the order and eventually finishing 7th. After a bad start dropping him down the order and also recently competing in Miami for the 2018 tourer world championships, Mugen driver Tim Moylan in his Orcan powered MTX6R displayed fantastic pace and made his way back up to finish 6th. Tim was actually unfortunate not to win super pole when he recorded a super fast lap time, but was forced to run again when the rain hit mid way through. Finishing just in front of Tim Moylan was the Orcan of Andrew Gillespie who drove a fantastic, faultless race. Andrew decided to pit for new tires mid way through the 45 minute final allowing him to push hard to the end of the race and put up a strong challenge to the Capricorn of Peter Jovanovic.

Jeff Hamon was in perfect form and didnít make a mistake dominating the 45 minute final, opting not to make a tire change ending on just a few Millimeters of foam taking the win.

Final results:
1st: Jeff Hamon (ORCAN)
2nd Thilo Todtmann
3rd: Steven Jovanovic
4th: Peter Jovanovic
5th: Andrew Gillespie (ORCAN)
6th: Tim Moylan (ORCAN)
7th: Braydon Stanley (ORCAN)
8th: Ricky Kradolfer (ORCAN)
9th: John Tayton
10th: David Chen

rc-car-rennsport.de  |   Kontakt / Impressum  |   © nowack-fotodesign.de

rc-netzwerk.de  |   rc-car-news.de  |   rc-flieger-news.de  |   rc-boote-news.de  |   rc-car-magazin.de